CMT Music 12 Pack Countdown Includes Unprecedented Level of Diversity

There’s no doubt that we’ve got a long way to go when it comes to inclusivity and equity within the country music industry. But for the first time ever, strides are being made. People are doing the work. Though it’s small now, a shift is happening.


The journey we’re on is a long one and in order to keep ourselves going, it’s important to acknowledge the wins along the way. One particular win that I noticed this week is the unprecedented level of diversity in CMT Music’s 12 Pack Countdown.


The CMT Music 12 Pack allows fans to vote for their 12 favorite videos each week. Videos with the most votes are aired on CMT Music, Fridays at 9/8C. This week the options include THIRTEEN Black acts/artists, which we’ve listed below.

Click HERE to cast your vote.

Amythyst Kiah – “Black Myself”


Allison Russell – “Nightflyer”


Chapel Hart – “You Can Have Him Jolene”


Kären McCormick – “Congratulations”


The Kentucky Gentlemen – “Vibin”


Lathan Warlick ft Raelynn – “Roots”


Mickey Guyton – “Black Like Me”


Parmalee and Blanco Brown – “Just The Way”


Sacha – “Standards”


Shy Carter – “Good Love”


Tiera – “Shut It Down”


Willie Jones – “American Dream”


Valerie June – “Call Me A Fool”

Allison Russell Introduces Us To Her First Love

In “Persephone”, Allison Russell gently grabs your hand and guides you through that first time in love feeling. It’s a soundtrack to the memory of the first time you ever felt that you truly needed someone. The first time you realized that another human being could be solace. She paints a picture of a young girl, an “outside child”, innocence lost to a hard life, who finds herself showing up at the home of the person she hopes will let her into their home and their heart. It’s the type of story telling that draws you close like a warm fire on a cold night.


Meet Persephone and follow along with the lyric video.